The Lawrence School, Sanawar, is a premier residential, co-educational, public school situated in the sylvan foothills of the Himalayas. It was founded in 1847 and is the proud alma mater of many eminent men and women who have made their mark all over the world. It is a member school of the Indian Public Schools’ Conference (IPSC), International Award for Young People (IAYP), and Round Square (RS). The school was founded in 1847 by Sir Henry Montgomery Lawrence, a distinguished British Army Officer of that time. The original name ‘Lawrence Military Asylum’, was changed to Lawrence Royal Military School and then to the institution’s present name: The Lawrence School, Sanawar. It was among the first schools in the British Empire to receive the King’s Colours. The School went on to get the King’s Colours three times in all. The students and the alumni of the school served during the First and Second World War in the highest tradition of Bravery. After independence, the school was handed over to the Ministry of Defence and subsequently to the Ministry of Education. The Old Sanawarians continued to serve the country during all major wars from 1947 onwards. Lt Arun Khetarpal, PVC, was an ex-student of the School. The alumni hold prestigious ranks in all three Departments of Defence and in the Police Force. There is a large number of alumni in Civil and Foreign Services, occupying highly important posts. Old Sanawarians also hold key corporate positions worldwide, be it media, industry or services. Sports, especially adventure sports, such as mountaineering has been a Sanawarian forte. The center of Sanawarian life revolves around the Birdwood School, as represented by the picture of the stamp, a building built of grey granite in a simple and austere Gothic style. The foundation stone of this building was laid on August 25, 1927, and was named after Field Marshal Sir William Birdwood. Since its inception till date, it is being used as the main school building and teaching section. The Cannons on the First Day Cover were captured in Turkey by the British and presented to Sanawar by the Ferozepur Arsenal Garrison in 1934. The Department of Posts issued a commemorative stamp to mark the sesquicentennial celebrations of the founding of The Lawrence School, Sanawar. Inlaid within the stamp is the School Crest. The design of a hand holding a dagger, ivy, swords and lionheads was adapted from the family Coat of Army of Sir Henry Lawrence. The crest bears the School’s Motto-“NEVER GIVE IN “Which embodies the spirit of the School, a spirit to which Rudyard Kipling bore testimony in his great classic work, “KIM” - “Send him to Sanawar & make a man of him.” The Lawrence School, Sanawar has weathered many a storm and endured against all odds since it was founded in 1847. It is this Never Give In credo that is the reason behind this great educational institution whose efficacy is evidenced by the fact that it is the proud alma mater of many eminent men and women who have made their mark all over the world